What’s in a Social Résumé? Taking Inventory

I grew up with the social web.

At age 13, I was spending hours upon hours in AOL chat rooms, posting to message boards, and surfing Geocities for homegrown websites. It was all about connectivity, not so much about looking up the what”DNA” stands for or reading as many news sources in one hour than we thought humanly possible (thank-you Google Reader).

Back in 1994, AOL was thrilling in its exclusivity–like a secret that only a select few knew about. Not unlike the Second Life of 2005. It spurred this culture of secrecy, in which our online selves were detached from our real selves, cloaked in the mystique of a screen name and chat room shorthand.

My point to this navel-gazing is this: the social web is here to stay, but it’s no longer the private party it used to be. For many of you in this web2.0 universe, that’s no surprise. But for me, and many others like me, it’s an adjustment. I’ve grown accustomed to having privacy on the web. To posting comments anonymously. To not sharing the drunken New Year’s photos on my Flickr account with anyone but my closest friends (full disclosure, here). To posting in Livejournal every day, not even bothering to lock my entries. It was a nice life. And now it’s over.

The first step to creating a social résumé is taking inventory of where you’re at on the web.

1. Flickr, Myspace, etc. What would you be uncomfortable sharing with an employer? You don’t need to destroy all evidence of a personal life, but be cognizant of the likelihood that it’ll turn up in an interview.

2. What is the quality of content about you on the web? If it’s crap, you need to beef it up. Maybe you need to start a blog. Maybe you need to dedicate an hour each night to commenting on industry blogs. Start thinking about your profession, and what you can contribute to the conversation. Dive in.

3. What’s your professional web presence? LinkedIn, Facebook, and others. Each profession has communities on the web (either through blogs or social-networking sites). Are you a member? If not, now is the time to join.
Okay, class. Now that you’ve got a professional web presence, it’s time to organize that real estate in a résumé.

7 Responses

  1. For some time now, the first hit for my name on Google has been a NY Times link pointing to my wedding announcement. Not that I mind people knowing I’m married (it’s obvious from the ring on my finger), but it’s still a little annoying that everything else I’ve done online doesn’t have sufficient Google Juice to overcome a 10-year old news item.

  2. продам Форд-Фокус 2008 года за 200 тр. торг возможет. срочно!!!
    +7 960 200 9209

  3. Hello, my name is Victor , I watched your show. Full Plate on TV(1). And I wanted to know if it wouid be the chances of helping me find my Dad. I’m a 45 yrs old man.I haven’t seen my Dad since The 70’s,I’ve talked to him on the phone about 10yrs ago. And if I found him to have a Lunch Or a Dinner with him. His name is Johnny Hudson,he lives in the New York area, his wife name is Brenda . Thank You So Much, And May God Bless.

  4. Да,aleks,побороть лень, действительно иногда очень сложно..

  5. Hi! I have an entry like this but it’s taken in a different perspective 🙂

  6. Oh yeah why don’t you check it out… http://khail360.wordpress.com/ 🙂

  7. OH crud! i just typed a nice comment and as soon as i submitted it it come up blank! Please tell me it worked properly? I do not want to sumit it again if i do not have to! Either the blog bugged out or i am just stuipd :), the latter doesnt surprise me lol.

Leave a Reply

